Information about electronic signatures and how to verify them

Documents which Swissmedic transmits electronically via the eSubmissions portal have an official electronic seal as per the Federal Act of 18 March 2016 on certification services in relation to electronic  signatures and other applications of digital signatures (Federal Act on Electronic Signatures, ESigA, SR 943.03) instead of a handwritten signature.

A valid electronic seal verifies that the content of the document has not been changed (integrity) and guarantees its origin (authenticity). The qualified electronic time-stamp of the Swiss Government PKI (Public Key Infrastructure) additionally attests to the time at which the electronic seal was applied.

You can check an electronic seal and hence its authenticity online with the help of the Swiss Confederation’s ‘Validator’ by uploading the electronically signed document to www.validator.ch and launching the validation process. The validation result issued by the Validator is binding with regard to the validity of the electronic signature. The online validator is operated under a security certificate in the Confederation’s name.

Important information: To ensure that PDF documents are displayed correctly and in full, we recommend using the Adobe Acrobat Reader application. To verify the validity of an electronically signed document, we expressly recommend using the online Validator. In principle, Adobe Acrobat Reader can also be used to check electronic signatures. This involves using certain configurations, however, for which specific knowledge is required.

Last modification 28.12.2020

Top of page

Informations sur les signatures électroniques et leur vérification

Les documents que Swissmedic envoie par voie électronique via le portail eSubmissions sont pourvus, au lieu d’une signature manuscrite, d’un cachet électronique réglementé par la loi fédérale du 18 mars 2016 sur les services de certification dans le domaine de la signature électronique et des autres applications des certificats numériques (loi sur la signature électronique, SCSE, RS 943.03).

Un cachet électronique valide garantit que le contenu du document n’a pas été modifié (intégrité) et atteste son origine (authenticité). L’horodatage électronique qualifié par le service d’horodatage de la Swiss Government PKI (Public Key Infrastructure, ou infrastructure à clés publiques en français) atteste en sus le moment où le cachet électronique a été apposé.

Le validateur de la Confédération suisse (www.validator.ch) permet de vérifier en ligne le cachet électronique et, dès lors, l’authenticité du document signé, en chargeant ce dernier sur le site en question et en lançant ensuite le processus de validation. Le résultat de la vérification que fournit le validateur au sujet de l’authenticité de la signature électronique fait foi. Le validateur en ligne fonctionne avec un certificat de sécurité établi au nom de la Confédération.

Remarque importante: pour que vos documents PDF s’affichent et soient représentés correctement et entièrement, nous vous conseillons d’utiliser Adobe Acrobat Reader. Afin de vérifier la validité d’un document signé électroniquement, nous vous recommandons toutefois expressément d’employer le validateur en ligne. En principe, les signatures électroniques peuvent également être vérifiées avec Adobe Acrobat Reader mais pour ce faire, vous devez disposer de configurations spécifiques qui requièrent des connaissances particulières en la matière.

Dernière modification 23.12.2020

Début de la page