Surveillance of healthcare institutions


Official responsibilities for surveillance


Swissmedic is the authority responsible for overseeing the maintenance and reprocessing of medical devices intended for use in hospitals. It is also responsible for controlling of third-party providers who provide medical device maintenance and reprocessing services for hospitals.

In addition, Swissmedic is responsible for monitoring the vigilance (reporting in connection with serious incidents – see the information under Users & operators) in all healthcare institutions. The Cantons are responsible for controlling the maintenance and reprocessing by all other professionals who use medical devices (e.g. medical practices, outpatient clinics, dental clinics).

The legal basis for this requirement is Art. 76 of the Medical Devices Ordinance (MedDO, SR 812.213) and Art. 69 of the Ordinance on In Vitro Diagnostic Medical Devices (IvDO, SR 812.219).

Users in hospitals can contact Swissmedic if they have any questions about medical device maintenance, reprocessing and vigilance: questions.devices@swissmedic.ch

Any users that fall within the jurisdiction of the cantons can contact the cantonal Department of Public Health or the competent cantonal authority (either the Cantonal Pharmacist's Office or the cantonal Medicines Inspectorate depending on the canton) if they have any questions about the maintenance and reprocessing of medical devices.

List of Public Health Departments, Cantonal Pharmacist's Offices, Cantonal Medical Officers or Medicines Inspectorates of the cantons:


Healthcare institutions and hospitals


The terms “healthcare institution” and “hospital” are defined in Art. 4 of MedDO and IvDO.

According to these definitions, healthcare institutions are organisations whose primary purpose is to provide care or treatment for patients or to promote public health. The term “hospital” is applied to all healthcare institutions in which inpatient treatments for illnesses, inpatient medical rehabilitation and inpatient medical measures for cosmetic purposes are provided by medical or nursing interventions.


Maintenance and reprocessing of medical devices in healthcare institutions


Anyone who uses a medical device commercially or applies it to third parties is subject to a legal duty to maintain it, as set out in Art. 49 of the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA). To this end, all maintenance measures that are necessary to ensure the correct functioning and safety of the medical device must be in place. Furthermore, Swissmedic can issue and publish requirements for maintenance measures. These requirements will be deemed to constitute the current state of technology and science (Art. 71 MedDO and Art. 64 IvDO).

According to Art. 4 MedDO and Art. 4 IvDO, the term “maintenance” comprises measures such as mechanical maintenance, software updates, inspection, repair, preparation for first use and reprocessing for reuse or measures to keep a product in functional condition or restore it to such condition. “Reprocessing” is part of maintenance and comprises cleaning, disinfection, sterilisation and similar procedures, such as packing, transport and storage, testing used devices and restoring a device’s technical and functional safety.


New medical devices regulations with effect from 26 May 2021 and implications for hospitals


New medical devices regulations came into force on 26 May 2021. An information meeting was held (in French and German) on 2 September 2021 to explain the impact of the new regulations on the different players in the Swiss medical devices sector.

One presentation dealt with healthcare institutions and the new requirements facing them. The presentations can be found on Swissmedic’s website by following the links below:

Information on the new medical devices regulations (French and German only):

Presentation on requirements pertaining to healthcare institutions:

Presentation on medical devices vigilance and market surveillance:

https://www.swissmedic.ch/content/swissmedic/en/home/medizinprodukte/wiederaufbereitung---instandhaltung.html

Surveillance des établissements de santé


Compétences officielles en matière de surveillance


Swissmedic est l’autorité responsable de la surveillance de la maintenance et du retraitement des dispositifs médicaux destinés à être utilisés dans les hôpitaux. Les prestataires tiers qui fournissent des prestations de maintenance et de retraitement de dispositifs médicaux aux hôpitaux relèvent également de la compétence de Swissmedic.

Swissmedic est par ailleurs responsable de la surveillance de la vigilance (système de déclaration des incidents graves, voir sous Utilisateurs & exploitants) dans tous les établissements de santé. Les cantons sont responsables de la surveillance de la maintenance et du retraitement des dispositifs par tous les autres utilisateurs professionnels (cabinets médicaux, services ambulatoires ou cliniques dentaires, par exemple).

L’art. 76 de l’ordonnance sur les dispositifs médicaux (ODim, RS 812.213) et l’art. 69 de l’ordonnance sur les dispositifs médicaux de diagnostic in vitro (ODiv, RS 812.219) constituent la base légale de ces compétences.

Les utilisateurs en milieu hospitalier peuvent s’adresser à Swissmedic en cas de questions sur la maintenance, le retraitement et la vigilance des dispositifs médicaux: questions.devices@swissmedic.ch

Tous les utilisateurs relevant de la compétence des cantons peuvent s’adresser à la Direction de la santé du canton ou aux autorités cantonales compétentes (selon le canton, il peut s’agir de l’Office du pharmacien cantonal, de l’Office du médecin cantonal ou de l’autorité cantonale de contrôle des produits thérapeutiques) en cas de questions sur la maintenance et le retraitement des dispositifs médicaux.

Répertoire des départements de la santé, offices du pharmacien cantonal, offices du médecin cantonal et autorités cantonales de contrôle des produits thérapeutiques:


Établissements de santé et hôpitaux


Les termes « établissement de santé » et « hôpitaux » sont définis à l’art. 4 de l’ODim et de l’ODiv.

Les établissements de santé sont des entités ayant pour mission première de prendre en charge ou de soigner des patients ou d’œuvrer en faveur de la santé publique. On entend par « hôpital » tout établissement de santé qui propose en milieu hospitalier au moyen de prestations d’assistance médicale et de soins soit un traitement des maladies, soit des mesures médicales de réadaptation, soit des mesures médicales à des fins esthétiques.


Maintenance et retraitement des dispositifs médicaux au sein des établissements de santé


Selon l’art. 49 de la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (LPTh), quiconque utilise un dispositif médical à titre professionnel ou l’applique sur autrui est soumis à l’obligation légale d’en assurer la maintenance. Cela implique de prendre toutes les mesures d’entretien qui sont nécessaires pour maintenir les performances et la sécurité du dispositif médical. Swissmedic peut en outre formuler et publier des directives concernant la maintenance. Ces directives sont considérées comme reflétant l’état de la science et de la technique (art. 71 ODim et art. 64 ODiv).

Selon l’art. 4 ODim et l’art. 4 ODiv, la maintenance englobe les mesures telles que l’entretien, les mises à jour logicielles, les inspections, les réparations, la préparation à la première utilisation et les retraitements en vue de réutiliser, de maintenir ou de rétablir le bon fonctionnement d’un dispositif. Le retraitement fait partie de la maintenance et comprend le nettoyage, la désinfection, la stérilisation et les procédures connexes comme l’emballage, le transport et le stockage, ainsi que l’essai du dispositif usagé et le rétablissement de ses caractéristiques techniques et fonctionnelles en matière de sécurité.


Nouvelle règlementation sur les dispositifs médicaux du 26 mai 2021 et implications pour les hôpitaux


Une nouvelle règlementation est entrée en vigueur le 26 mai 2021 concernant les dispositifs médicaux. Une réunion d’information a eu lieu le 2 septembre 2021 pour détailler l’impact de cette nouvelle règlementation sur les différents acteurs du domaine des dispositifs médicaux en Suisse.

Une présentation est dédiée aux établissements de santé et aux nouvelles exigences qui leur sont imposées. Les présentations sont disponibles sur le site de Swissmedic grâce aux liens suivants:

Informations sur la nouvelle réglementation sur les dispositifs médicaux:

Présentation sur les exigences concernant les établissements de santé:

Présentation sur la vigilance et surveillance du marché des dispositifs médicaux:

https://www.swissmedic.ch/content/swissmedic/fr/home/medizinprodukte/wiederaufbereitung---instandhaltung.html