Maintenance

Swissmedic is the agency responsible for the compliance monitoring with regard to the maintenance of medical devices in hospitals. The cantons are responsible for compliance monitoring of all other professional bodies that use medical devices (e.g. medical practices, outpatient clinics, dental clinics).

The legal basis is provided by Arts. 15 and 20 of the Medical Devices Ordinance.

The following document on Good Practice in the maintenance of medical devices describes the specific measures that hospitals can take to organise medical device maintenance in conformity with the existing legal requirements.

Swissmedic uses the following checklist as an aid when inspecting hospitals with regard to the maintenance of medical devices. It can also, however, be used by hospitals to conduct gap analyses with regard to the requirements of an established quality management system and for internal audits. The checklist is published as an active PDF for this purpose (PDF available in German, French and Italian).

Standard SN EN 62353 details the requirements of the Medical Devices Ordinance as regards the maintenance of medical electrical equipment and is applicable to the entities responsible for maintenance, for example in hospitals.

Hypothermia devices (heater cooler units)

08.02.2017
We would like to inform you about new directives on the operation and the surveillance of hypothermia devices (Heater-Cooler Devices / Units) in the operation room:

Link to the information from the FOPH (in German):
https://www.swissmedic.ch/content/swissmedic/en/home/medizinprodukte/wiederaufbereitung---instandhaltung/instandhaltung.html

Instandhaltung

Swissmedic ist die zuständige Stelle für die nachträgliche Kontrolle der Instandhaltung von Medizinprodukten in Spitälern. Für die nachträgliche Kontrolle bei allen anderen anwendenden Fachpersonen (z.B. Arztpraxen, Ambulatorien, Zahnkliniken) sind die Kantone zuständig.

Die rechtliche Grundlage dafür bietet Art. 15, sowie Art. 20 der Medizinprodukteverordnung.

Das nachfolgende Dokument zur Guten Praxis der Instandhaltung von Medizinprodukten beschreibt, welche konkreten Massnahmen Spitäler durchführen können, um die Instandhaltung der Medizinprodukte in Übereinstimmung mit den bestehenden rechtlichen Vorschriften zu organisieren.

Die folgende Checkliste dient Swissmedic im Rahmen ihrer Inspektionstätigkeit in Spitälern im Bereich der Instandhaltung von Medizinprodukten als Hilfsmittel. Sie kann aber auch von den Spitälern zur Durchführung von Lückenanalysen hinsichtlich der Anforderungen eines etablierten Qualitätsmanagementsystems sowie interner Audits verwendet werden. Für diesen Zweck ist die Checkliste als aktives PDF publiziert.

Die Norm SN EN 62353 konkretisiert die Anforderungen der MepV zur Instandhaltung medizinischer elektrischer Geräte und ist anwendbar für die mit der Instandhaltung beauftragten Stellen, beispielsweise in Spitälern.

Hypothermiegeräte (Heater Cooler Units)

08.02.2017
Wir möchten Sie über neue Richtlinien zum Betrieb und zur Überwachung von Hypothermiegeräten (Heater-Cooler Devices / Units) im Operationsaal informieren:

Link zu Informationen vom BAG:
https://www.swissmedic.ch/content/swissmedic/de/home/medizinprodukte/wiederaufbereitung---instandhaltung/instandhaltung.html