Temporary authorisation to use medicinal products in accordance with Article 9b para. 1 TPA

On 18 March 2016, as part of the revision of the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA-2), the Swiss federal parliament approved the new Article 9b.

Art. 9b (new)     Temporary authorisation for use and for restricted placing on the market

1 The Agency may, for a limited period of time, permit certain persons or a certain group of persons outside the scope of clinical trials to use medicinal products according to Article 9 paragraph 2 letter d.
 

This article is specified in greater detail in section 5 of the Ordinance on Medicinal Products Licensing (Medicinal Products Licensing Ordinance, MPLO), which has also been revised. Following this revision it is possible, as of 1 January 2019, to grant a temporary authorisation to use medicinal products in accordance with Article 9b paragraph 1 TPA

This specifically means that patients may be treated with an as yet unauthorised product outside the scope of a clinical trial. This authorisation, which is granted by Swissmedic, is subject to several provisions, which are set out in section 5 of the revised MPLO.

The revised MPLO entered into force on 1 January 2019. Applications may be submitted to the Clinical Trials Division after obtaining the opinion of the competent Ethics Committee. For more information on the submission process to the Ethics Committee please refer to Swissethics.

Befristete Bewilligung zur Anwendung von Arzneimitteln gemäss Artikel 9b Absatz 1 HMG

Im Rahmen der Revision des Heilmittelgesetzes (HMG-2) hat das Parlament am 18. März 2016 den neuen Artikel 9b verabschiedet.

Art. 9b (neu)      Befristete Bewilligung zur Anwendung und zum begrenzten Inverkehrbringen

1 Das Institut kann die Anwendung von Arzneimitteln nach Artikel 9 Absatz 2 Buchstabe d an bestimmten Personen oder an einem bestimmten Personenkreis ausserhalb klinischer Versuche befristet bewilligen. 
 

Dieser Artikel wird im Kapitel 5 der ebenfalls revidierten Verordnung über die Bewilligungen im Arzneimittelbereich (Arzneimittel-Bewilligungsverordnung, AMBV) konkretisiert. Mit dieser Revision ist es ab 01.01.2019 möglich sein, eine Befristete Bewilligung zur Anwendung von Arzneimitteln gemäss Artikel 9b Absatz 1 HMG zu erteilen. 

Konkret bedeutet das, dass Patienten mit einem noch nicht zugelassenen Produkt ausserhalb eines klinischen Versuchs behandelt werden können. Diese Bewilligung unterliegt mehreren Voraussetzungen, die im Kapitel 5 der revidierten AMBV beschrieben sind. Sie wird von Swissmedic erteilt. 

Die revidierte AMBV ist per 1.1.2019 in Kraft. Die Gesuche können nach der Vorabstellungnahme der zuständigen Ethikkommission bei Swissmedic,  Abteilung Klinische Versuche, eingereicht werden. Für mehr Information über die Einreichung bei der Ethikkommission, wenden Sie sich bitte an Swissethics.