PARTNERS – Working together to combat therapeutic product trafficking

National authorities

It is forbidden in Switzerland to trade in, use and sell illegal therapeutic products, particularly on the Internet. Swissmedic works with Swiss customs, police and cantonal authorities to monitor the medicinal products market, initiating action or forwarding a report to the competent authority when necessary.  

Criminal prosecution

An efficient criminal prosecution instrument is needed in order to take effective action against the counterfeiting of medicinal products and medical devices. Alongside the cantonal public prosecutors and the Federal Customs Administration, the Swissmedic Penal Division has primary responsibility for prosecuting and penalising violations relating to the manufacture, supply and trafficking of counterfeit therapeutic products.

The Swissmedic Penal Division carries out criminal investigations and penalises any violations within Swissmedic’s area of competence by issuing penalty orders and penalty rulings, as well as by representing Swissmedic in court as a prosecuting authority. Swissmedic is empowered to impose sanctions, such as house searches, seizures and demanding the production of documents. In transnational cases, which are common in the area of counterfeiting, Swissmedic works in close collaboration with foreign health authorities and prosecuting authorities.

In addition to its management, the Swissmedic Penal Division currently has seven investigators-in-charge – the majority of whom are qualified lawyers who have been admitted to the bar – who are responsible for the whole of Switzerland. From an organisational point of view, it constitutes one of the three divisions of Legal Affairs at Swissmedic, along with the Legal Division Medicines and Legal Division Medical Devices.

International bodies

As the national single point of contact for medicinal products trafficking, Swissmedic partners with various international committees and working groups, with which it regularly shares information.

 

Last modification 05.10.2020

Top of page

PARTENAIRES – Lutter ensemble contre les produits illégaux

Autorités nationales

Le commerce, l’utilisation et la vente de produits thérapeutiques illégaux, notamment en ligne, sont interdits en Suisse. En collaboration avec les douanes, les instances de police et les autorités cantonales, Swissmedic surveille le marché des médicaments et prend, le cas échéant, les mesures qui s’imposent ou transmet une déclaration à l’autorité compétente.  

Poursuite pénale

Pour être opérante, la lutte contre la contrefaçon de médicaments et de dispositifs médicaux requiert un système de poursuite pénale efficace. Outre les ministères publics cantonaux et l’Administration fédérale des douanes, il incombe au premier chef à la division pénale de Swissmedic de poursuivre et réprimer les infractions liées à la fabrication, à l’offre et au commerce de produits thérapeutiques contrefaits.

La division pénale de Swissmedic mène des enquêtes et réprime les éventuelles infractions à la législation relevant de la compétence de l’Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques par des mandats de répression et des décisions pénales, ou représente Swissmedic devant les tribunaux en tant qu’autorité chargée de la poursuite. Swissmedic peut prendre des mesures de contrainte (perquisitions, séquestres, p. ex.) et exiger la production de documents. Les affaires transfrontalières, qui sont très nombreuses dans le domaine de la contrefaçon, donnent lieu à une concertation étroite avec les autorités sanitaires et de poursuite pénale étrangères.

La division pénale de Swissmedic se compose actuellement, en plus de sa direction, de sept responsables d’enquête, qui sont pour la plupart des juristes de formation titulaires d’un brevet d’avocat et dont la compétence s’étend à l’ensemble de la Suisse. Du point de vue organisationnel, la division pénale est l’un des trois piliers du secteur juridique de Swissmedic, au même titre que la division juridique médicaments et que la division juridique dispositifs médicaux.

Organes internationaux

En tant que service central et point de contact national pour le commerce illégal de médicaments, Swissmedic entretient une collaboration avec divers organes et groupes de travail internationaux et échange régulièrement avec eux.

 

Dernière modification 05.10.2020

Début de la page