About Medicrime

About Medicrime

“Medicrime” is the umbrella term used by Swissmedic for all national and international activities to combat medicinal product-related crime. These activities are intended to ensure that all medicinal products and medical devices marketed in Switzerland are safe and legal, and to combat national and international trafficking in therapeutic products. In pursuit of this goal, Swissmedic partners closely with other enforcement agencies, including Swiss customs, police and cantonal Medicines Inspectorates.

It is forbidden in Switzerland to trade in, use and sell illegal therapeutic products, particularly on the Internet. Criminal proceedings are instituted if necessary.

Swissmedic is Switzerland’s national single point of contact (SPOC). The Agency works with Swiss customs and cantonal authorities to monitor imports of medicinal products by companies, professional users and private citizens.

Swissmedic exchanges information on the source of illegal medicinal products with international partner authorities in a bid to curb manufacturing and trafficking.

Medicrime Convention

The Medicrime Convention is the Council of Europe Convention on the counterfeiting of medical products and similar crimes involving threats to public health.

Switzerland is fully committed to the Medicrime Convention, which was drawn up by the Council of Europe as the first international legal instrument to curb trafficking in medicinal products. The signatory states, of which Switzerland is one, are committed to expanding the range of offences associated with the production, offering for supply and trafficking in counterfeit therapeutic products. It is estimated that some 20,000 illegal consignments of medicinal products arrive in Switzerland annually.

Signatory states to the Convention regard the following activities as criminal offences:

  • Manufacturing counterfeit medicinal products
  • Supplying, offering to supply or trafficking in counterfeit medical products
  • Falsifying documents
  • Producing and supplying medicinal products without authorisation and placing medicines on the market that do not comply with industry standards

Switzerland signed the Convention in 2011 and ratified it on 1 January 2019. By adding this additional instrument to its armoury, it stepped up its efforts to combat counterfeit therapeutic products at national and international level.

 

Single point of contact (SPOC) for counterfeit medicinal products in Switzerland

In accordance with the Medicrime Convention, and following the entry into force of the revised TPA on 1 January 2019, Swissmedic became the national single point of contact (SPOC) under Art. 69 para. 4 of the new legislation.

Swissmedic has been developing and fulfilling the role of SPOC for many years. The revised legislation now puts this role on a legal footing. Collaboration with the points of contact at the Directorate General of Customs, Federal Office of Police (fedpol) and other stakeholders is being established on an ongoing basis.

In addition to its national duties, Swissmedic’s role as SPOC extends to international cooperation in prevention and other administrative activities, such as exchanging reports on specific cases and working in various international committees and working groups.

The international committees (include link to other page listing organisations) have set up, and are continuously updating, networks of international contacts (lists of European and global SPOCs). This facilitates rapid communication when dangerous counterfeits or other forms of trafficking come to light. 

 

International product warnings – product databases

As Switzerland’s SPOC for illegal medicinal products, Swissmedic is responsible for ensuring access to international information about counterfeits and other illicit products. Swissmedic receives reports on illegal products from international authorities, reviews them and initiates corrective action as necessary or passes them on to the competent units.  

Swissmedic was instrumental in helping set up the European Know-X product database, access to which is restricted to authorities’ points of contact.

Know-X contains product-specific information on counterfeit medicinal products, such as results of analytical testing, steps taken, the authorities involved and the risk to health posed by a particular product.

https://www.edqm.eu/en/edqm-know-x-database

The information in the database comes from a variety of sources, including OMCLs, health authorities, regulatory authorities, supervisory authorities for medical devices, customs and the police. It is intended to assist the competent authorities in making decisions on managing and preventing risks. 

Global information sharing
Swissmedic is also networked with the SF Medical Products Group. This group is affiliated to the WHO and is the receiving point for reports of counterfeit medicinal products from around the world. It compiles these reports in a database. If there is a particular risk to health and international relevance, it issues and publishes product alerts.

https://www.who.int/medicines/publications/drugalerts/en/

 
 
 
 
 

Last modification 19.07.2019

Top of page

À propos de Médicrime

À propos de Médicrime

Swissmedic regroupe sous la désignation « Médicrime » l’ensemble des activités nationales et internationales de lutte contre la criminalité dans le secteur des produits thérapeutiques. La finalité de ces activités est non seulement d’assurer l’unique présence sur le marché suisse de médicaments et de dispositifs médicaux sûrs et légalement commercialisables, mais aussi de lutter à l’échelle nationale et internationale contre le commerce illégal de produits thérapeutiques. Pour atteindre cet objectif, Swissmedic travaille en étroite collaboration avec d’autres autorités d’exécution comme les douanes, la police et les autorités cantonales chargées du contrôle des produits thérapeutiques.

Le commerce, l’utilisation et la vente de produits thérapeutiques illégaux, notamment en ligne, sont interdits en Suisse. Des procédures pénales sont ouvertes le cas échéant.

Swissmedic assume la fonction de point de contact national unique (Single Point of Contact, SPOC). En collaboration avec les autorités douanières et cantonales, l’Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques surveille les importations de médicaments à l’initiative d’entreprises, d’utilisateurs professionnels, mais aussi de particuliers.

Des informations sur l’origine des médicaments illégaux sont par ailleurs échangées avec des autorités partenaires internationales afin d’endiguer leur fabrication et leur commerce dans le monde entier.

Convention Médicrime

La Convention Médicrime est une convention du Conseil de l’Europe sur la contrefaçon des produits médicaux et les infractions similaires menaçant la santé publique.

Cette convention, qui a été élaborée par le Conseil de l’Europe et en faveur de laquelle la Suisse s’est fortement engagée, constitue le premier instrument juridique international visant à empêcher le trafic illégal de médicaments. Les États signataires, dont fait partie la Suisse, s’engagent à élargir la palette des infractions relatives à la fabrication, à l’offre et au commerce de produits thérapeutiques contrefaits. On estime qu’environ 20 000 envois de médicaments illégaux arrivent chaque année en Suisse.

La convention fait obligation aux États signataires d’ériger en infraction pénale :

  • la fabrication de médicaments contrefaits ;
  • la fourniture, l’offre de fourniture et le trafic illégal de produits médicaux contrefaits ;
  • la falsification de documents ;
  • la fabrication ou la fourniture non autorisée de produits médicaux et la mise sur le marché de médicaments ne remplissant pas les exigences de conformité.

La Suisse a signé la convention en 2011 et l’a ratifiée le 1er janvier 2019, se dotant ainsi d’un instrument supplémentaire pour renforcer la lutte nationale et internationale contre les contrefaçons de produits thérapeutiques.

Point de contact national unique (SPOC) pour les contrefaçons de médicaments en Suisse

Conformément à la Convention Médicrime et suite à l’entrée en vigueur de la loi révisée sur les produits thérapeutiques (LPTh) le 1er janvier 2019, Swissmedic a été désigné en tant que service central et point de contact national en vertu de l’art. 69, al. 4 LPTh. Dans le contexte international, cette fonction est désignée par le terme « Single Point Of Contact » ou SPOC.

Même si cela fait déjà plusieurs années que Swissmedic s’est établi en tant que SPOC, l’adaptation de la législation a permis d’ancrer ce rôle dans la loi. La collaboration avec les points de contact de la Direction générale des douanes, de l’Office fédéral de la police (fedpol) et d’autres parties prenantes va continuer à être développée.

Outre une fonction nationale, le rôle de SPOC implique une collaboration internationale dans le cadre de la prévention et d’autres mesures administratives, dont l’échange de déclarations liées à un cas donné, ainsi qu’une coopération avec divers organes et groupes de travail internationaux.

Ces organes internationaux (lien vers l’autre page avec les organisations) ont établi des réseaux d’interlocuteurs internationaux (liste des SPOC aux niveaux européen et mondial) dont la liste est mise à jour en permanence. Cela permet de communiquer rapidement en présence de contrefaçons dangereuses pour la santé ou de tout autre commerce illégal.  

 

Mises en garde internationales concernant des produits – bases de données sur les produits

En tant que point de contact national pour les médicaments illégaux, Swissmedic garantit l’accès aux informations internationales relatives aux contrefaçons et autres produits illégaux. Swissmedic reçoit des autorités internationales des annonces sur des produits illicites, les analyse et prend, le cas échéant, les mesures correctrices nécessaires ou transmet les annonces au service compétent.  

Swissmedic a contribué de manière déterminante à la création de la base de données européenne sur les produits appelée « Know-X » (dont l’accès est réservé aux interlocuteurs des autorités).

Dédiée aux contrefaçons de médicaments, Know-X contient des renseignements spécifiques à chaque produit recensé, comme des résultats d’analyses, les mesures prises, les autorités impliquées et le risque que représente le produit pour la santé.

https://www.edqm.eu/en/edqm-know-x-database

Les informations disponibles dans la base de données proviennent de différentes sources (OMCL, autorités sanitaires, autorités réglementaires, autorités de surveillance des dispositifs médicaux, douanes et police, p. ex.). Elles visent à aider les autorités compétentes à prendre des décisions dans le cadre de la gestion et de la prévention des risques. 

Un échange international d’informations

Swissmedic appartient par ailleurs au réseau du SF Medical Products Group. Rattaché à l’OMS, ce groupe reçoit des annonces de contrefaçons de médicaments provenant du monde entier les recense d leans une base de données. Si la contrefaçon signalée présente un risque particulier pour la santé et l’annonce a une portée internationale, il envoie et publie des mises en garde au sujet des produits concernés.

https://www.who.int/medicines/publications/drugalerts/en/

 
 
 
 
 

Dernière modification 19.07.2019

Début de la page