PARTNERS – Working together to combat therapeutic product trafficking

National authorities

It is forbidden in Switzerland to trade in, use and sell illegal therapeutic products, particularly on the Internet. Swissmedic works with Swiss customs, police and cantonal authorities to monitor the medicinal products market, initiating action or forwarding a report to the competent authority when necessary.  

Criminal prosecution

An efficient criminal prosecution instrument is needed in order to take effective action against the counterfeiting of medicinal products and medical devices. Alongside the cantonal public prosecutors and the Federal Customs Administration, the Swissmedic Penal Division has primary responsibility for prosecuting and penalising violations relating to the manufacture, supply and trafficking of counterfeit therapeutic products.

The Swissmedic Penal Division carries out criminal investigations and penalises any violations within Swissmedic’s area of competence by issuing penalty orders and penalty rulings, as well as by representing Swissmedic in court as a prosecuting authority. Swissmedic is empowered to impose sanctions, such as house searches, seizures and demanding the production of documents. In transnational cases, which are common in the area of counterfeiting, Swissmedic works in close collaboration with foreign health authorities and prosecuting authorities.

In addition to its management, the Swissmedic Penal Division currently has seven investigators-in-charge – the majority of whom are qualified lawyers who have been admitted to the bar – who are responsible for the whole of Switzerland. From an organisational point of view, it constitutes one of the three divisions of Legal Affairs at Swissmedic, along with the Legal Division Medicines and Legal Division Medical Devices.

International bodies

As the national single point of contact for medicinal products trafficking, Swissmedic partners with various international committees and working groups, with which it regularly shares information.

 

Last modification 05.10.2020

Top of page

Partner – Gemeinsam gegen illegale Heilmittel

Nationale Behörden

In der Schweiz sind der Handel, die Anwendung und der Verkauf von illegalen Heilmitteln verboten, insbesondere auch über das Internet. Zusammen mit dem Zoll, Polizeiorganen und den kantonalen Behörden überwacht Swissmedic den Arzneimittelmarkt und leitet bei Bedarf Massnahmen ein oder leitet eine Meldung an die zuständige Behörde weiter.

Strafverfolgung

Eine effektive Bekämpfung von Arzneimittel- und Medizinproduktefälschungen kann nur mithilfe eines gut funktionierenden Strafverfolgungsapparates erfolgen. Neben den kantonalen Staatsanwaltschaften und der Eidgenössischen Zollverwaltung obliegt es in erster Linie dem Strafrechtsdienst von Swissmedic, Verstösse im Zusammenhang mit der Herstellung, dem Angebot und dem Handel mit gefälschten Heilmitteln zu verfolgen und zu ahnden.

Die Abteilung Strafrecht von Swissmedic führt Ermittlungsverfahren durch und ahndet allfällige Gesetzesverstösse im Zuständigkeitsbereich von Swissmedic mit in Form von Strafbescheiden und Strafverfügungen bzw. vertritt Swissmedic als Strafverfolgungsbehörde vor Gericht. Swissmedic kann Zwangsmassnahmen wie Hausdurchsuchungen, Beschlagnahmen und Editionen durchführen. In grenzüberschreitenden Fällen, welche im Fälschungsbereich sehr häufig sind, erfolgt dabei eine enge Abstimmung mit ausländischen Gesundheits- und Strafverfolgungsbehörden.

Der Strafrechtsdienst von Swissmedic besteht neben der Leitung aktuell aus sieben Untersuchungsleiterinnen und Untersuchungsleitern, überwiegend ausgebildete Juristen mit Anwaltspatent, die für die gesamte Schweiz zuständig sind. Organisatorisch bildet er neben den Abteilungen Rechtsberatung Arzneimittel und Rechtsberatung Medizinprodukte eine der drei Säulen des Bereichs Recht von Swissmedic.

Internationale Gremien

 

Als nationalen Zentral- und Kontaktstellen beim illegalen Handel mit Arzneimittel arbeitet Swissmedic mit diversen internationalen Gremien und Arbeitsgruppen zusammen und tauscht sich regelmässig aus.

 

Letzte Änderung 02.10.2020

Zum Seitenanfang