About Medicrime

About Medicrime

“Medicrime” is the umbrella term used by Swissmedic for all national and international activities to combat medicinal product-related crime. These activities are intended to ensure that all medicinal products and medical devices marketed in Switzerland are safe and legal, and to combat national and international trafficking in therapeutic products. In pursuit of this goal, Swissmedic partners closely with other enforcement agencies, including Swiss customs, police and cantonal Medicines Inspectorates.

It is forbidden in Switzerland to trade in, use and sell illegal therapeutic products, particularly on the Internet. Criminal proceedings are instituted if necessary.

Swissmedic is Switzerland’s national single point of contact (SPOC). The Agency works with Swiss customs and cantonal authorities to monitor imports of medicinal products by companies, professional users and private citizens.

Swissmedic exchanges information on the source of illegal medicinal products with international partner authorities in a bid to curb manufacturing and trafficking.

Medicrime Convention

The Medicrime Convention is the Council of Europe Convention on the counterfeiting of medical products and similar crimes involving threats to public health.

Switzerland is fully committed to the Medicrime Convention, which was drawn up by the Council of Europe as the first international legal instrument to curb trafficking in medicinal products. The signatory states, of which Switzerland is one, are committed to expanding the range of offences associated with the production, offering for supply and trafficking in counterfeit therapeutic products. It is estimated that some 20,000 illegal consignments of medicinal products arrive in Switzerland annually.

Signatory states to the Convention regard the following activities as criminal offences:

  • Manufacturing counterfeit medicinal products
  • Supplying, offering to supply or trafficking in counterfeit medical products
  • Falsifying documents
  • Producing and supplying medicinal products without authorisation and placing medicines on the market that do not comply with industry standards

Switzerland signed the Convention in 2011 and ratified it on 1 January 2019. By adding this additional instrument to its armoury, it stepped up its efforts to combat counterfeit therapeutic products at national and international level.

 

Single point of contact (SPOC) for counterfeit medicinal products in Switzerland

In accordance with the Medicrime Convention, and following the entry into force of the revised TPA on 1 January 2019, Swissmedic became the national single point of contact (SPOC) under Art. 69 para. 4 of the new legislation.

Swissmedic has been developing and fulfilling the role of SPOC for many years. The revised legislation now puts this role on a legal footing. Collaboration with the points of contact at the Directorate General of Customs, Federal Office of Police (fedpol) and other stakeholders is being established on an ongoing basis.

In addition to its national duties, Swissmedic’s role as SPOC extends to international cooperation in prevention and other administrative activities, such as exchanging reports on specific cases and working in various international committees and working groups.

The international committees (include link to other page listing organisations) have set up, and are continuously updating, networks of international contacts (lists of European and global SPOCs). This facilitates rapid communication when dangerous counterfeits or other forms of trafficking come to light. 

 

International product warnings – product databases

As Switzerland’s SPOC for illegal medicinal products, Swissmedic is responsible for ensuring access to international information about counterfeits and other illicit products. Swissmedic receives reports on illegal products from international authorities, reviews them and initiates corrective action as necessary or passes them on to the competent units.  

Swissmedic was instrumental in helping set up the European Know-X product database, access to which is restricted to authorities’ points of contact.

Know-X contains product-specific information on counterfeit medicinal products, such as results of analytical testing, steps taken, the authorities involved and the risk to health posed by a particular product.

https://www.edqm.eu/en/edqm-know-x-database

The information in the database comes from a variety of sources, including OMCLs, health authorities, regulatory authorities, supervisory authorities for medical devices, customs and the police. It is intended to assist the competent authorities in making decisions on managing and preventing risks. 

Global information sharing
Swissmedic is also networked with the SF Medical Products Group. This group is affiliated to the WHO and is the receiving point for reports of counterfeit medicinal products from around the world. It compiles these reports in a database. If there is a particular risk to health and international relevance, it issues and publishes product alerts.

https://www.who.int/medicines/publications/drugalerts/en/

 
 
 
 
 

Last modification 19.07.2019

Top of page

Medicrime-Konvention

Über Medicrime

Unter der Bezeichnung Medicrime fasst Swissmedic alle nationalen und internationalen Aktivitäten zur Bekämpfung der Heilmittelkriminalität zusammen. Diese haben zum Ziel, dass in der Schweiz nur sichere, legal verkehrsfähige Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte auf dem Markt sind und der illegale Handel mit Heilmitteln sowohl national als auch weltweit bekämpft wird. Dazu arbeitet Swissmedic eng mit anderen Vollzugsbehörden wie dem Zoll, der Polizei und den kantonalen Heilmittelkontrollen zusammen.

In der Schweiz sind der Handel, die Anwendung und auch der Verkauf von illegalen Heilmitteln verboten, insbesondere auch über das Internet. Bei Bedarf werden Strafverfahren durchgeführt.

Swissmedic fungiert als nationaler SPOC (Single Point of Contact). Zusammen mit dem Zoll und den kantonalen Behörden überwacht Swissmedic die Einfuhr von Arzneimitteln durch Firmen, professionelle Anwender und auch durch Privatpersonen.

Informationen zur Quelle von illegalen Arzneimitteln werden mit den internationalen Partnerbehörden ausgetauscht, um die Herstellung und den Handel weltweit einzudämmen.

Medicrime-Konvention

Die Medicrime-Konvention ist ein Übereinkommen des Europarats über die Fälschung von Arzneimittel und  ähnliche Verbrechen, die eine Bedrohung der öffentlichen Gesundheit darstellen.

Die vom Europarat erarbeitete Medicrime-Konvention, für die sich die Schweiz stark engagiert hat, ist das erste internationale Rechtsinstrument, das die Unterbindung des illegalen Arzneimittelhandels zum Ziel hat. Die Vertragsstaaten, darunter die Schweiz, verpflichten sich, die Straftatbestände für Herstellung, Angebot und Handel mit gefälschten Heilmitteln zu erweitern. Jedes Jahr gelangen schätzungsweise rund 20 000 illegale Arzneimittelsendungen in die Schweiz.

Das Übereinkommen fordert von den Vertragsstaaten, folgende Handlungen als Straftaten zu betrachten:

  • Herstellung von Arzneimittelfälschungen
  • Lieferung oder Angebot zur Lieferung von oder illegaler Handel mit gefälschten medizinischen Produkten
  • Fälschung von Dokumenten
  • Herstellung und Lieferung medizinischer Produkte ohne Zulassung und Vermarktung von Arzneimitteln unter Nichteinhaltung der Industriestandards

Im Jahr 2011 hat die Schweiz das Übereinkommen unterzeichnet und per 1. Januar 2019 ratifiziert. Damit wurde ein weiteres Instrument für eine verschärfte nationale und internationale Bekämpfung von Heilmittelfälschungen zu Verfügung gestellt.

 

Nationale Kontaktstelle für Arzneimittelfälschungen in der Schweiz (SPOC)

Gemäss der Medicrime-Konvention und mit Inkrafttreten des geänderten Heilmittelgesetzes HMG per 1. Januar 2019 wurde Swissmedic gemäss Art. 69 Abs. 4 als nationale Zentral- und Kontaktstelle bezeichnet. Im internationalen Kontext wird dafür der Begriff «Single Point Of Contact» SPOC verwendet.

Swissmedic hat die Rolle als SPOC bereits seit Jahren aufgebaut. Mit der angepassten Gesetzgebung wurde dies nun auch gesetzlich verankert. Die Zusammenarbeit mit den Kontaktstellen bei der Oberzolldirektion, dem Bundesamt für Polizei fedpol und anderen Stakeholder wird weiter etabliert.

Die Rolle als SPOC beinhaltet nebst der nationalen Funktion auch die internationale Zusammenarbeit bei der Prävention und bei anderen administrativen Massnahmen, wie zum Beispiel ein fallbezogener Meldungsaustausch sowie die Mitarbeit in diversen internationalen Gremien und Arbeitsgruppen.

Die internationalen Gremien (mit Link zu anderer Seite mit Organisationen) haben Netzwerke von internationalen Kontaktpersonen aufgestellt (SPOC Listen auf europäischer und globaler Ebene), die laufend aktualisiert werden. Dies ermöglicht eine rasche Kommunikation beim Auftreten von gesundheitsgefährdenden Fälschungen oder von anderem illegalen Handel. 

 

Internationale Produktewarnungen – Produktdatenbanken

Swissmedic, die nationale Kontaktstelle für illegale Arzneimittel, stellt den Zugang zu internationalen Informationen über Fälschungen und anderen illegalen Produkten sicher. Swissmedic nimmt Meldungen zu illegalen Produkten von internationalen Behörden entgegen, prüft sie, leitet gegebenenfalls korrigierende Massnahmen ein oder gibt die Meldungen an die zuständigen Stellen weiter.  

Swissmedic hat massgeblich beim Aufbau der europäischen Produktedatenbank Know-X mitgewirkt (Zugang ist den Kontaktpersonen von Behörden vorbehalten).

In Know-X sind produktespezifische Angaben zu gefälschten Arzneimitteln enthalten, wie zum Beispiel Informationen zu Analyseresultaten, getroffene Massnahmen, den involvierten Behörden und der Gesundheitsgefährdung eines Produktes.

 

https://www.edqm.eu/en/edqm-know-x-database

 

Die in der Datenbank bereit gestellten Informationen stammen aus verschiedenen Quellen (z. B. OMCLs, Gesundheitsbehörden, Regulierungsbehörden, Aufsichtsbehörden für Medizinprodukte, Zoll und Polizei). Sie sollen den zuständigen Behörden Entscheidungshilfen für das Management und die Prävention von Risiken geben.

Weiter ist Swissmedic mit der «SF Medical Products Group» vernetzt. Diese Gruppe ist bei der WHO angesiedelt, nimmt international Meldungen zu Arzneimittelfälschungen entgegen und sammelt sie in einer Datenbank. Bei besonderer Gesundheitsgefährdung und internationaler Relevanz versendet und publiziert sie Produktewarnungen.

https://www.who.int/medicines/publications/drugalerts/en/

 
 
 
 

Letzte Änderung 07.11.2019

Zum Seitenanfang