Patients and Users

Medicinal products and medical devices: from development to market surveillance

The life cycle of a medicinal product

The process from the development of a medicinal product to its market authorisation is a lengthy one.
On average, it takes between ten to twelve years from the first laboratory studies until the first time a product is prescribed.


Swissmedic, the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products, is involved in the entire life cycle of a medicinal products because of its mandated areas of responsibility in the sectors of licensing and the authorisation and monitoring of medicinal products.


Background information on the Agency and the areas covered by its mandate can be found at the following link:

Companies must obtain Swissmedic's approval for the clinical trials that will be necessary in order to develop a medicinal product. In addition, a Swissmedic establishment licence is needed in order to manufacture medicinal products. Once the clinical trials are completed, the company may apply to Swissmedic for the product to be authorised. The documentation submitted is assessed by Swissmedic in accordance with the internationally recognised criteria of quality, safety and efficacy. The authorisation is only granted if the level of quality and safety are proved to be high and if the risk-benefit balance is positive. The company receives the approval of the information on the product intended for healthcare professionals and patients (the packaging insert) at the same time as the authorisation.
The pharmaceutical firm may only place its medicinal product on the market once it has received the official authorisation decision.
Switzerland continues to monitor the safety and the quality of the medicinal product even after it has been authorised. To do so, the agency evaluates reports on side effects that are received from Switzerland and also monitors international data. It then takes the necessary decisions in order to minimise possible risks for patients. Swissmedic also intervenes in the case of quality problems, ensuring that defective products are withdrawn from the market.


Swissmedic's areas of responsibility are closely related to those of other authorities or implementing bodies. For the control of retail trade, for example, i.e. of the Cantonal dispensing services for druggists or pharmacies, etc. the responsibility is that of the Cantons.
There are other interfaces such as those relating to questions of delimitation between medicinal products and cosmetics (Federal Office of Public Health, FOPH) or between medicinal products and foods (Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office, FSVO) office. In order to clarify questions in the case that the delimitation is not clear, Swissmedic takes part in working groups involving specialised professionals from the Federal bodies concerned..

Further information regarding questions on delimitation can be found at the following link:

 

Medicinal products may only be distributed in Switzerland if they are authorised by Swissmedic. To obtain an authorisation for a medicinal product, the applicant must submit documentation proving its efficacy, safety and quality. Under certain conditions, authorisation is not mandatory: the exceptions are stated in Art. 9 of the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA). The requirements with regard to the authorisation documentation to be submitted are specified in the Ordinances on Therapeutic Products and are explained in further detail by means of internationally harmonised directives and instructions that reflect the latest status of science and technology.


Swissmedic's task is to assess whether the documentation submitted constitutes proof of the efficacy, safety and quality of the medicinal product.
If the medical benefit of a product outweighs the related risks, an authorisation is granted.


In principle, a distinction can be made between medicinal products with new active pharmaceutical ingredients1 and those with known active pharmaceutical ingredients.


Please use the following link to find a current overview of Medicinal products with new active pharmaceutical ingredients1:

 

An overview of all human and veterinary medicinal products with the exception of authorised homeopathic and anthroposophic medicinal products without indication (see under Complementary and Herbal medicines) can be found here:

One component of the authorisation by Swissmedic is the so-called "medicinal product information", which consists of the "information for healthcare professionals" and the "patient information": it contains all the important information for the safe use of the medicinal product.


You may use our medicinal product information platform (AIPS) to find information for healthcare professionals and for patients on all human medicinal products that are authorised in Switzerland:

 

If an authorisation is granted, it is initially valid for five years or, in certain cases, for one year only. Once this period expires, Swissmedic examines whether the medical benefit is still greater than the possible risks, e.g. with regard to the side-effects.

 


1 A "new active pharmaceutical ingredient" is one that is has not been contained to date in any other medicinal product authorised in Switzerland.

Medicinal products for rare diseases are called "orphan drugs". They are used to treat rare diseases that are life-threatening or serious, and for which to date, no treatment options or no satisfactory ones are available. The term "rare disease" is used when at most 5 out of 10,000 individuals in Switzerland are affected. The same definition is used in the European Union (EU).

A company may apply for so-called "orphan drug status" as early as during the development phase. The qualification / status as an orphan drug implies major cost reductions in the future authorisation process (no fee for the procedure).
A product with orphan drug status is nevertheless not available for use until it has been granted authorisation as a medicinal product for rare diseases, i.e. the recognition of the status alone is not sufficient.

Swissmedic publishes a list of medicinal products and the corresponding indications for which it recognises orphan drug status. This information can be found in the list, under the column "Orphan drug status granted for the following indication(s)".
If an authorisation as an orphan drug has been granted, you can find the authorised orphan drug indication(s) in the column "Authorised field of application". The corresponding information is then expanded upon in the columns "Authorisation number" and "Date of first authorisation".

Humanarzneimittel
Orphan Drug
(31.08.2017, 286 KB, XLSX)

As soon as the medicinal product to treat rare diseases is authorised, the corresponding patient information is published on the medicinal product information platform AIPS.

The term complementary medicinal products encompasses all homeopathic, anthroposophic and traditional Asian medicines (e.g. medicinal products from traditional Chinese medicine, TCM).
Homeopathic and anthroposophic medicinal products are defined by the type and manner of their manufacturing and the regulations for their use.
The decisive fact with regard to Asian medicines is not their manufacturing but the type of composition of herbal, mineral or animal components, in accordance with specific rules for the type of medicine concerned.
For all three types of medicinal product, a common factor is that they are used for individual therapies, i.e. they are based on a specific treatment concept.

The assessment of these types of medicinal product can be restricted to their high quality and the essential information with regard to safety, while the responsibility for the choice of the correct medicinal product, the correct dose and thus the safe use is that of the doctor or therapist who is trained in the therapeutic approach concerned.

Herbal medicinal products contain only herbal active substances or their preparations, such as chamomile or valerian.

Based on the Ordinance of the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products of 22 June 2006 (Complementary and herbal medicinal products ordinance, KPAV), simplified authorisation is possible for complementary and herbal medicinal products. The requirements depend on the risks related to the corresponding products.

An overview of all authorised homeopathic and anthroposophic medicinal products without indication (i.e. without a specified area of use) can be found here:

Herbal medicinal products authorised by Swissmedic can be found in the list of authorised human and veterinary medicinal products.

So-called medical devices are included within therapeutic products, in addition to medicinal products. Medical devices encompass an extremely large range of products. This includes, for example, implants such as artificial hips and heart pacemakers, technical apparatus such as radiology equipment, but also products for the general public such as contact lenses, fever thermometers or devices to measure blood pressure. Medical devices also include in-vitro diagnostic devices such as blood glucose, pregnancy or HIV test kits.
Unlike medicinal products, medical devices do not undergo an official authorisation procedure. For such products, Switzerland applies the system of conformity assessment or certification, based on bilateral contracts with the EU.
Compliance with the internationally valid standards is assessed by the manufacturer and certified private sector bodies that handle conformity assessment, the so-called Notified Bodies. Medical devices are divided into various classes and the documentation and assessment procedure required depend on the risk assessment for each. The visible result of a successful conformity assessment is the so-called CE mark. Medical devices with this mark can be placed on the market in Switzerland and in the EU.

Up-to-date information on medical devices can be found at the following:

The Swiss Therapeutic Products Act provides for experience with regard to the use of a medicinal product following its authorisation to be constantly and systematically collected and assessed, even after the product has been authorised. This is therefore of key importance, since at the moment of their authorisation, findings on the safety of medicinal products cannot be comprehensive. This is because the clinical trials with a new medicinal product – compared to its broad use in the population once it is placed on the market – can only be based on a relatively small number of patients. It is therefore possible that rare or extremely rare adverse reactions, interactions with other medicinal products, or other risks in connection with the use of the medicinal product are only identified during its more widespread use.


Market monitoring is therefore one of Swissmedic's key tasks.

 

The mandatory requirement for authorisation holders and also for healthcare professionals to report quality defects affecting an authorised medicinal product to Swissmedic (for example if the active pharmaceutical ingredient content is too low, the wrong tablets are contained in a blister or if impurities are discovered in a product) is laid down in the Therapeutic Products Act and the Medicinal Products Ordinance.
Depending on the type and potential risks of the quality defect that is reported or identified, Swissmedic initiates the appropriate measures. These include imposing so-called batch recalls, i.e. the manufacturing batch concerned by the quality defect is recalled from the market.
The authorisation of the medicinal products concerned is not usually affected.

A list of batch recalls for human medicinal products can be found at the following link:

A list of the recalls and other safety measures concerning medical devices can be found at the following link:

If a therapeutically important medicinal product that is authorised in Switzerland should be unavailable for a limited period of time as a result of delivery shortages on the part of the manufacturer (i.e. an out-of-stock situation), the authorisation holder may submit an application for the temporary marketing of the identical product (qualitative and quantitative composition) in a packaging intended for another country.
The application may be approved if the following criteria are fulfilled:

 

  • If the availability of the medicinal product is therapeutically important;
  • If there is no increased risk with regard to the safety of medicines;
  • If there is no equivalent alternative product available in Switzerland.

The applications approved by Swissmedic and the corresponding information letter from the firm can be found at the link below.

Medicinal products may only be distributed in Switzerland if they are authorised by Swissmedic (see under "Authorised medicinal products"). Once an authorisation is granted, however, it is not valid for an unlimited time but remains subject to the appropriate control mechanisms and reviews even after it is placed on the market (see under "Safety of medicines").
In the case of new medicinal products, companies must submit reports on the monitoring of the safety and efficacy of a medicinal product at regular intervals. The reports are assessed by Swissmedic. If necessary, the Agency proceeds to an adjustment of the authorisation, and in particular of the medicinal product information. In addition, usually five years following the granting of a first authorisation, companies must apply for the authorisation to be extended. If the authorisation holder does not submit an application for the extension to Swissmedic within the time limit or if the authorisation is revoked by Swissmedic, this leads to the authorisation being cancelled. The medicinal product may then no longer be distributed or dispensed as of a defined date.

Swissmedic may withdraw an authorisation not only for safety reasons, but also in the following cases:

 

  • If the authorisation holder decides to discontinue distribution;
  • If the medicinal product has not been placed on the market within three years after the authorisation is granted (so-called "sunset clause");
  • If, after being placed on the market, the medicinal product is not available on the market for three consecutive years (so-called "sunset clause").

In contrast to a withdrawal, the authorisation of a medicinal product may also be suspended for a defined time period. This may be necessary in order – initially – to carry out further investigations and tests before a final decision is taken. During the suspension period, the medicinal product may not be distributed and is not available for use. After the assessment is completed, Swissmedic decides whether to remove the suspension, whether the authorisation of the medicinal product must be adjusted, or whether it must be withdrawn.

The expiry or withdrawal of authorisations or suspensions that are imposed are published by Swissmedic in its monthly Swissmedic Journal.

The advantage of obtaining medicinal products in pharmacies, from druggists or from your doctor (if he / she dispenses them) is that they come from the official distribution channels approved by Swissmedic.
The situation is different if medicinal products are ordered from abroad, from the Internet. This can be extremely dangerous and can expose you to serious health risks. Medicinal products for sale on the Internet are often of insufficient quality, wrongly labelled or even knowingly falsified. It is possible that the products offered do not contain the active pharmaceutical ingredient declared, or contain different or impure active pharmaceutical ingredients. The Swiss authorities have no legal basis for preventing the activities of such providers since foreign suppliers are not governed by Swiss law. Those ordering the products therefore do so under their own responsibility. Swissmedic therefore issues regular warnings about the possible dangers of obtaining medicinal products from the Internet, and takes part in national and international campaigns on the subject.

Mail order of medicinal products is permitted in Switzerland under conditions defined by law. The corresponding licences are attributed by the Cantons. In accordance with legislation on therapeutic products, each individual mail order for medicinal products must be accompanied by a medical prescription. This also applies to medicinal products that can normally be obtained without a prescription. These provisions are intended to ensure that expert advice is provided before the order is placed.

Further information on risks, the legal basis, and obtaining medicinal products from the Internet can be found in our guideline on medicinal products and the Internet at the link below:

Guideline on medicines and the Internet
(16.08.2011, 52 KB, PDF)

The import and export of medicinal products for the private use of individuals is regulated by law.
The link below provides you with answers to the most frequently asked questions in this connection:

Patients et Utilisateurs

Swissmedic et le parcours des produits thérapeutiques

Le « cycle de vie » d’un médicament

Le parcours d’un médicament, de son développement jusqu’à son autorisation de mise sur le marché est long.
En moyenne, dix à douze ans s’écoulent entre les premiers essais en laboratoire et la première prescription du produit.


Swissmedic, Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques, est impliqué dans l’ensemble du cycle de vie des médicaments au travers de ses activités relatives aux autorisations d’exploitation, aux autorisations de mise sur le marché et à la surveillance des préparations.


Des informations de fond sur l’organisation et le domaine de compétence de Swissmedic peuvent être retrouvées en cliquant sur le lien suivant:

Pour pouvoir développer un médicament, une entreprise pharmaceutique doit tout d’abord faire autoriser auprès de Swissmedic les essais cliniques nécessaires à réaliser en Suisse. Elle a par ailleurs besoin d’une autorisation de fabrication délivrée par Swissmedic pour pouvoir produire son produit. Une fois les études cliniques achevées, l’entreprise peut adresser à l’institut une demande d’autorisation de mise sur le marché. Les documents présentés sont alors examinés par Swissmedic conformément aux critères de qualité, de sécurité et d’efficacité reconnus au plan international. L’autorisation de mise sur le marché n’est délivrée que si la qualité, la sécurité et l’efficacité du médicament sont satisfaisantes et si l’évaluation du rapport bénéfice/risque est positive. En même temps que l’autorisation de mise sur le marché, l’institut envoie à l’entreprise la version approuvée de l’information professionnelle et de l’information destinée aux patients (notice d’emballage).


Le médicament ne peut être mis sur le marché qu’après réception par l’entreprise pharmaceutique de l’autorisation de mise sur le marché correspondante (sous forme de décision).


Swissmedic continue à surveiller la sécurité et la qualité du médicament même après la procédure d’autorisation de mise sur le marché. Pour ce faire, l’institut évalue des rapports d’effets indésirables provenant de Suisse, mais aussi les données internationales, et prend les décisions qui s’imposent pour minimiser les risques potentiels pour les patients. Swissmedic intervient également en cas de problèmes de qualité et veille à ce que les produits défectueux soient retirés du marché.


Les limites du domaine de compétence de Swissmedic sont très proches de celles des domaines de compétence d’autres autorités ou organes d’exécution. Il revient ainsi aux cantons de contrôler le commerce de détail, c’est-à-dire les centres de remise cantonaux tels que les drogueries ou les pharmacies.
Des recoupements de domaines de compétence existent aussi avec d’autres autorités lorsqu’il s’agit d’établir la distinction entre médicaments et produits cosmétiques (Office fédéral de la santé publique, OFSP) ou entre médicaments et denrées alimentaires (Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires, OSAV). Afin de clarifier ces problématiques, Swissmedic collabore avec des experts de ces administrations fédérales dans le cadre de groupes chargés des problèmes de délimitation.

Pour de plus amples informations sur les questions de délimitation, veuillez consulter la page suivante:

Seuls les médicaments autorisés par Swissmedic peuvent être commercialisés en Suisse. Pour obtenir une autorisation de mise sur le marché (AMM), le requérant doit soumettre des documents qui permettent de justifier de l’efficacité, de la sécurité et de la qualité du médicament. Dans certaines conditions, il peut toutefois être libéré de l’obligation d’obtention d’une AMM. Ces exceptions sont énoncées à l’art. 9 de la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (LPTh). Les exigences auxquelles la documentation d’AMM doit répondre sont fixées dans les ordonnances sur les produits thérapeutiques et sont en outre précisées par des instructions et des directives harmonisées au plan international, qui reflètent l’état actuel des connaissances scientifiques et techniques.


Swissmedic a pour mission de contrôler si les documents produits avec la demande d’AMM attestent effectivement de l’efficacité, de la sécurité et de la qualité du médicament.


Une AMM est délivrée lorsque les bénéfices médicaux tirés de l’emploi du produit sont supérieurs aux risques présentés par ce dernier.


D’une manière générale, on distingue les médicaments contenant un nouveau principe actif1 de ceux qui contiennent un principe actif connu.


Vous trouverez sur la page suivante un aperçu à jour des médicaments contenant un nouveau principe actif1:

Une vue d’ensemble de tous les médicaments à usage humain et vétérinaire autorisés par Swissmedic, à l’exception des médicaments homéopathiques et anthroposophiques autorisés sans indication (voir à la rubrique Médicaments complémentaires et phytomédicaments), peut être retrouvé sur cette page:

L’information sur le médicament, qui se compose de l’information professionnelle et de l’information destinée aux patients et qui contient toutes les informations importantes pour un emploi sûr du médicament, fait partie intégrante de l’AMM délivrée par Swissmedic.

Toutes les informations professionnelles et informations destinées aux patients relatives aux médicaments à usage humain autorisés en Suisse peuvent être consultées sur notre plate-forme de publication des informations sur les médicaments (AIPS), sous:

L’AMM accordée est tout d’abord valable pour une durée de cinq ans ou de seulement un an dans certains cas particuliers. Une fois cette période écoulée, Swissmedic vérifie si les bénéfices médicaux offerts par le médicament sont toujours supérieurs aux risques possibles, notamment au vu des effets indésirables.

 


1 Par « nouveau principe actif », on entend un principe actif qui n’était jusqu’ici contenu dans aucun médicament autorisé en Suisse.

 

Les médicaments contre des maladies rares sont appelés « médicaments orphelins » (orphan drugs). Ils sont utilisés pour lutter contre des maladies rares graves ou mettant en danger la vie des patients et pour lesquelles on ne dispose à ce jour d’aucune possibilité de traitement ou d’aucune option thérapeutique satisfaisante. On parle de maladie rare lorsqu’une maladie touche au maximum cinq personnes sur 10 000 en Suisse. Cette définition est également valable dans l’Union européenne (UE).

Une entreprise peut revendiquer le statut de médicament orphelin dès la phase de développement du produit. La qualification en tant que / ce statut de médicament orphelin lui permettra ensuite de bénéficier d’avantages importants pendant la procédure d’autorisation de mise sur le marché (aucun émolument de procédure).
Toutefois, le statut de médicament orphelin ne suffit pas à lui seul pour pouvoir mettre à disposition un médicament: toute préparation avec ce statut doit aussi d’abord obtenir une AMM en tant que médicament pour pouvoir être utilisée contre des maladies rares.

Swissmedic publie une liste des médicaments et de leurs indications auxquels il a reconnu le statut de médicament orphelin (informations contenues dans les colonnes « Orphan Drug Status verliehen für folgende Indikation(en) » [statut de médicament orphelin accordé pour la/les indication(s) suivante(s)]).
Lorsque le produit a obtenu une AMM en tant que médicament orphelin, la/les indication(s) autorisée(s) avec ce statut sont indiquées dans la colonne « Zugelassenes Anwendungsgebiet » (champ d’application autorisé). Les colonnes « Zulassungsnummer » (numéro d’autorisation) et « Datum Erstzulassung » (date de la première autorisation) contiennent des informations complémentaires.

Médicaments à usage humain
Orphan Drug
(31.08.2017, 286 KB, XLSX)

Dès qu’un médicament contre une maladie rare est autorisé, son information destinée aux patients est disponible sur la plate-forme de publication des informations sur les médicaments.

Le terme « médicaments complémentaires » désigne tous les médicaments homéopathiques, anthroposophiques et asiatiques traditionnels (médicaments de la médecine traditionnelle chinoise [MTC], par exemple).
Les médicaments homéopathiques et anthroposophiques se définissent par leur mode de fabrication et leurs règles d’utilisation.
L’élément décisif pour les médicaments asiatiques traditionnels n’est pas la manière dont ils sont fabriqués, mais la façon dont le médicament associe dans sa composition des éléments d’origine végétale, minérale ou animale selon des règles particulières de la médecine traditionnelle correspondante.
Ces trois types de médicaments ont en commun le fait qu’ils sont utilisés pour offrir un traitement adapté à chaque individu, c’est-à-dire qui est basé sur un concept thérapeutique particulier.

Le contrôle de ces médicaments peut se limiter à vérifier la qualité irréprochable du produit et le respect des prescriptions obligatoires en matière de sécurité. Il appartient en revanche au médecin ou au thérapeute possédant une formation dans cette orientation thérapeutique de choisir le bon médicament, de déterminer la posologie adaptée et donc d’utiliser de manière sûre le produit.

Les phytomédicaments contiennent uniquement des principes actifs d’origine végétale ou des préparations de ces derniers (camomille ou valériane, par exemple).

En vertu de l’ordonnance du 22 juin 2006 de l’Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques sur l’autorisation simplifiée des médicaments complémentaires et des phytomédicaments (ordonnance sur les médicaments complémentaires et les phytomédicaments, OAMédcophy), les médicaments complémentaires et les phytomédicaments peuvent faire l’objet d’une autorisation de mise sur le marché simplifiée.
Les exigences à respecter dépendent du risque inhérent au produit.

Vous trouverez ici un aperçu de tous les médicaments homéopathiques et anthroposophiques sans indication (c’est-à-dire sans champ d’application défini) autorisés par Swissmedic.

Les phytomédicaments autorisés par Swissmedic peuvent être consultés dans la liste des médicaments à usage humain ou vétérinaire autorisés.

Les produits thérapeutiques englobent non seulement les médicaments, mais aussi ce que l’on appelle les dispositifs médicaux. Les dispositifs médicaux représentent une gamme de produits très large, qui comprend notamment des implants comme les prothèses de hanche et les stimulateurs cardiaques, des dispositifs techniques tels que les appareils radiologiques, mais aussi des produits destinés au grand public tels que les lentilles de contact, les thermomètres médicaux ou les tensiomètres. Les diagnostics in vitro comme les tests de glycémie, de grossesse ou de dépistage du virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH) entrent aussi dans la catégorie des dispositifs médicaux.
Contrairement aux médicaments, les dispositifs médicaux ne sont pas soumis à l’obligation d’obtention d’une autorisation de mise sur le marché par les autorités. Pour ces produits, la Suisse applique le système d’évaluation de la conformité ou de certification conformément aux accords bilatéraux conclus avec l’UE.
Dans ce cadre, la conformité aux normes internationales en vigueur est évaluée par le fabricant et des organismes privés certifiés appelés « organismes d’évaluation de la conformité » (OEC) (notified bodies). Les dispositifs médicaux sont divisés en plusieurs classes, qui nécessitent une documentation et une procédure d’évaluation différentes selon la catégorie de risque. Le résultat visible de la réussite de l’évaluation de la conformité est le marquage CE, qui permet de commercialiser les dispositifs médicaux en Suisse et au sein de l’UE.

Pour des informations actuelles sur les dispositifs médicaux, veuillez consulter la page suivante:

La loi sur les produits thérapeutiques en vigueur en Suisse prévoit le recueil et l’évaluation continus et systématiques des expériences faites lors de l’utilisation des médicaments et ce, même après leur autorisation de mise sur le marché. Cette procédure est essentielle, car il est impossible de disposer de connaissances complètes sur la sécurité des médicaments au moment de leur autorisation de mise sur le marché. Les essais cliniques sur de nouveaux médicaments ne peuvent en effet être réalisés que chez un nombre relativement faible de patients en comparaison de la large utilisation de ces médicaments par la population après leur introduction sur le marché. Par conséquent, certains effets indésirables rares ou très rares, des interactions avec d’autres médicaments ou d’autres risques liés à l’emploi d’un médicament peuvent n’être observés qu’après l’autorisation de mise sur le marché, alors que le produit est largement utilisé.


La surveillance du marché représente ainsi l’une des missions centrales de Swissmedic.

L’obligation d’annoncer à l’institut les défauts de qualité d’un médicament autorisé (p. ex. : teneur en principe actif trop faible, mauvais comprimés dans un blister ou découverte d’impuretés dans un produit) à laquelle sont soumis le titulaire de l’autorisation, mais aussi les professionnels, est définie dans la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques et dans l’ordonnance sur les médicaments.
Swissmedic prend les mesures qui s’imposent en fonction du type de défaut de qualité signalé ou constaté et de son potentiel de risque. Ces mesures comprennent notamment ce que l’on appelle des retraits de lots, c’est-à-dire le retrait du marché des lots de fabrication concernés par le défaut de qualité.
Généralement, l’autorisation de mise sur le marché du médicament n’est pas remise en cause.

Une liste des retraits de lots de médicaments à usage humain peut être consultée sur la page suivante:

Une liste des retraits et d’autres mesures de sécurité prises concernant des dispositifs médicaux peut être consultée à la page suivante:

Si en raison de difficultés de livraison du fabricant (situation de rupture de stock), un médicament autorisé en Suisse et considéré comme important d’un point de vue thérapeutique n’est plus disponible pendant une période limitée, le titulaire de l’autorisation de mise sur le marché peut déposer une demande de distribution d’une préparation identique (compositions qualitative et quantitative) dans une présentation étrangère (emballage) à durée limitée.
La demande peut être approuvée lorsque les critères suivants sont satisfaits:

 

  • la disponibilité du médicament est considérée comme importante d’un point de vue thérapeutique ;
  • il n’y a pas augmentation du risque eu égard à la sécurité du médicament ;
  • aucun médicament de substitution équivalent n’est disponible en Suisse.

Vous trouverez à la page suivante les demandes approuvées par Swissmedic et les courriers d’information des entreprises correspondantes:

Seuls les médicaments autorisés par Swissmedic peuvent être commercialisés en Suisse (voir la rubrique « Médicaments autorisés »). Néanmoins, une autorisation de mise sur le marché (AMM) qui a été délivrée ne reste pas valable sans restriction et le médicament est soumis à des mécanismes de contrôle et à des vérifications même après sa mise sur le marché (voir la rubrique « Sécurité des produits thérapeutiques »).
Les entreprises qui mettent de nouveaux médicaments sur le marché doivent ainsi présenter des rapports périodiques sur la surveillance de la sécurité et l’efficacité de leurs produits. Ces documents sont examinés par Swissmedic, qui peut ensuite exiger, en cas de besoin, une adaptation de l’autorisation de mise sur le marché et, en particulier, de l’information sur le médicament. Par ailleurs, les entreprises doivent en principe déposer une demande de prolongation de l’AMM cinq ans après l’obtention de la première autorisation. L’absence de soumission de cette demande dans les délais impartis par le titulaire de l’AMM ou une réponse négative de Swissmedic entraîne l’extinction de l’AMM. Le médicament ne peut alors plus être ni commercialisé ni remis à partir d’une date précise.

Swissmedic peut également révoquer l’AMM d’un médicament non seulement pour des raisons de sécurité, mais aussi notamment dans les cas suivants:

 

  • le titulaire de l’AMM renonce à la commercialisation du produit ;
  • le médicament n’a pas été effectivement mis sur le marché dans les trois ans après l’octroi de l’autorisation (ce que l’on appelle la « sunset clause ») ;
  • le médicament mis sur le marché ne s’y trouve plus effectivement pendant trois années consécutives (« sunset clause »).

À la différence d’une révocation, la suspension de l’AMM consiste à interrompre l’AMM d’un médicament pendant une période définie. Cette mesure peut s’avérer nécessaire lorsque des clarifications et des contrôles doivent être réalisés avant de pouvoir prendre une décision définitive. Pendant la durée de la suspension, le médicament ne peut plus être commercialisé et n’est plus disponible. Après examen du dossier, Swissmedic décide s’il peut lever la suspension ou si l’AMM du médicament doit être adaptée ou même, le cas échéant, révoquée.

Les extinctions, révocations et ordres de suspension sont publiés par l’institut dans le Journal Swissmedic, qui paraît tous les mois.

Les médicaments achetés en pharmacie, en droguerie ou chez un médecin (propharmacien) offrent l’avantage de provenir de canaux de distribution officiels et autorisés par Swissmedic.
Il n’en va pas de même lors de l’achat en ligne de médicaments provenant de l’étranger. Cette pratique peut comporter des risques considérables, notamment pour la santé. Souvent, les médicaments disponibles sur Internet sont d’une qualité insuffisante, présentent un étiquetage erroné ou sont même sciemment contrefaits. Le médicament proposé peut ne pas contenir le principe actif déclaré, mais des principes actifs différents ou comportant des impuretés. Les autorités suisses ne disposent d’aucune base légale pour mettre un terme aux activités de ces prestataires, car les fournisseurs étrangers ne sont pas soumis à la législation suisse. La personne qui commande ce type de médicaments doit prendre ses responsabilités. Par conséquent, Swissmedic attire régulièrement l’attention du public sur les dangers possibles des achats de médicaments sur Internet et participe à des actions nationales et internationales dans ce domaine.

En Suisse, la vente de médicaments par correspondance n’est autorisée que dans des conditions définies par la loi, les autorisations correspondantes étant octroyées par les cantons. Selon la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques, chaque commande de médicaments passée dans le cadre d’un processus de vente par correspondance doit s’accompagner d’une ordonnance médicale pour pouvoir être traitée. Un principe qui s’applique aussi aux médicaments délivrés sans ordonnance en temps normal. Cette règle vise à garantir l’offre de conseils spécialisés avant la commande.

Des informations complémentaires sur les risques et les bases légales, ainsi que des mises en garde sur les médicaments vendus sur Internet peuvent être retrouvées dans notre guide « Médicaments et Internet ».

Guide Médicaments et Internet
(16.08.2011, 48 KB, PDF)

L’importation et l’exportation de médicaments par des particuliers sont régies par la loi.
Vous trouverez sur la page suivante des réponses aux questions les plus fréquentes sur ce sujet: