eCTD v4.0

eCTD v4.0 is a new technical standard relating to the submission of applications for the authorisation of medicinal products. The standard – developed by the ICH (International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use) – is an upgraded version of the currently valid standard eCTD v3.2.2 on which Swissmedic’s current eCTD solution is based. The new standard will be introduced over the next few years; the exact timeframe has not yet been defined.

In connection with the introduction of the new eCTD v4.0 standard, Swissmedic is conducting a public consultation of the Swiss Regional Implementation Guide and the related technical documents. The Implementation Guide is the underlying document describing the technical aspects of the new specifications. It consists of two parts:

  • the ICH Implementation Guide, which was developed by ICH and relates to the internationally harmonised eCTD modules 2–5 and to the overarching topics; this Guide was first published in 2015 and has been successively updated ever since;
  • the Swiss regional Implementation Guide, which was drafted by Swissmedic and contains the technical requirements of the Swiss eCTD module 1.

The public consultation relates to the Swiss regional Implementation Guide.

In launching this public consultation process, Swissmedic is inviting authorisation holders, software manufacturers, service providers in the regulatory affairs field, other authorities and interested parties to examine the current Implementation Package and communicate their comments and change requests to Swissmedic. Please use the form provided to send Swissmedic your feedback by 30 September 2020.

Comments arising from the public consultation will be used to optimise the Implementation Package. In this way, we can create the right basis for successfully rolling out the new eCTD v4.0 standard at Swissmedic and other relevant organisations. The final Implementation Package is due to be published in December 2020.

The Swiss Implementation Package contains the following files:

  • draft Swiss eCTD v4.0 Implementation Guide
  • lists of all Controlled Vocabularies
  • template for comments submitted in the public consultation

Swissmedic
Operational Support Services
Hallerstrasse 7
3012 Berne
Switzerland
E-mail

Last modification 02.07.2020

Top of page

eCTD v4.0

Le document eCTD v 4.0 est une nouvelle norme technique mise au point par l'ICH (International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use), qui régit la soumission des demandes d'autorisation de mise sur le marché de médicaments. Il s'agit d'une norme qui fait suite à la norme eCTD v 3.2.2 en vigueur et sur laquelle repose également la solution eCTD actuellement utilisée par Swissmedic. La nouvelle norme sera déployée dans les prochaines années ; le calendrier n'est pas encore défini.

Dans le cadre du déploiement de la nouvelle norme eCTD v 4.0, Swissmedic organise une consultation publique sur le « Swiss Regional Implementation Guide » ainsi que sur les documents techniques correspondants. L’« Implementation Guide » est un document de base qui décrit les aspects techniques de la nouvelle spécification. Il se compose de deux parties :

  • Mis au point par l'ICH, l’ « ICH Implementation Guide » porte sur les modules 2 à 5 de l'eCTD, qui sont harmonisés au niveau international, ainsi que sur les aspects généraux. Ce guide a été publié pour la première fois en 2015 et est mis à jour régulièrement depuis.
  • Élaboré par Swissmedic, le « Swiss Regional Implementation Guide » présente les exigences techniques que doit respecter le module 1 de l'eCTD suisse.

La consultation publique concerne le guide de mise en œuvre régional mis au point pour la Suisse.

Dans le cadre de la consultation publique, Swissmedic invite les titulaires d'autorisations de mise sur le marché, les fabricants de logiciels, les prestataires de services dans le domaine des affaires réglementaires, les autres autorités et les personnes intéressées à examiner la présente trousse de mise en œuvre (« Implementation Package ») et à faire part à Swissmedic de leurs commentaires et des modifications qu'ils souhaiteraient y apporter. Swissmedic les prie d'inscrire leurs commentaires dans le formulaire prévu à cet effet, et de transmettre ce dernier à l'institut pour le 30 septembre 2020 au plus tard.

Les commentaires reçus lors de la consultation publique seront utilisés afin de poursuivre l'optimisation de l'« Implementation Package ». Cette approche permettra de poser des bases adéquates pour mettre en place avec succès la nouvelle norme eCTD v 4.0 au niveau de Swissmedic et des parties concernées. L'« Implementation Package » final devrait être publié en décembre 2020.

L'« Implementation Package » suisse comprend les données suivantes:

  • Draft Swiss eCTD v4.0 Implementation Guide
  • Listes de tous les vocabulaires normalisés (« Controlled Vocabularies »)
  • Document-type pour les commentaires dans le cadre de la consultation publique

Swissmedic
Operational Support Services
Hallerstrasse 7
3012 Berne
Suisse
E-mail

Dernière modification 02.07.2020

Début de la page