Strategy veterinary medicinal products: Greater clarity and better collaboration

A lot has changed in the field of veterinary medicinal products in the past few years. Swissmedic is responding to these changes with a new strategy that clarifies competencies and optimises collaboration with other federal offices.

The new Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO) came into being in 2014. It was created by the merger of the former Swiss Federal Veterinary Office (SFVO) with the Food Safety Department at the Federal Office for Public Health (FOPH). The Veterinary Medicinal Products Ordinance (VMPO) was revised at the same time, resulting in a shift in responsibilities between Swissmedic and the FSVO.

These were defined fundamentally through consultations between the FSVO and Swissmedic. As a result, Swissmedic has honed and reoriented its strategy for veterinary medicinal products in recent months. Furthermore, Swissmedic was prompted by the implementation of these changes to optimise its internal procedures and responsibilities. This realignment has given rise to the following objectives:

  • Swissmedic focuses on marketing authorisation and market monitoring of veterinary medicinal products and is the central point of contact in this area.
  • The Institute for Virology and Immunology (IVI) retains responsibility for immunobiologicals (vaccines and sera for animals), the FSVO is responsible for the safe use of veterinary medicinal products and for issues relating to antibiotics in veterinary medicine. The FSVO is supporting the implementation of the VMPO by the cantonal veterinary officers, veterinarians and animal owners.
  • Collaboration with external national and international bodies is targeted, transparent and coordinated between the competent offices to avoid duplication. Responsibility for dealing with enquiries is assigned using clear criteria in consultation with the FSVO.
  • Swissmedic is concentrating scientific expertise in veterinary medicinal products in a single organisational unit. Tasks and responsibilities relating to the safety of veterinary medicinal products and delimitation questions regarding veterinary medicinal products will be moved in their entirety to the Veterinary Medicinal Products Department (TAM), part of the Authorisations section (formerly in the Market Surveillance section). Collaboration with VetSuisse on TAM-Vigilance will be maintained.

Last modification 09.08.2018

Top of page

Strategie Tierarzneimittel

Im Bereich Tierarzneimittel hat sich in den letzten Jahren viel verändert. Um diesen Veränderungen Rechnung zu tragen, hat Swissmedic eine neue Strategie erarbeitet, die Kompetenzen klärt und die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Bundesämtern optimiert.

2014 hat das neue Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen (BLV) seine Arbeit aufgenommen. Es entstand aus der Fusion des bisherigen Bundesamtes für Veterinärwesen (BVET) mit der Abteilung Lebensmittelsicherheit des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit (BAG). Parallel dazu wurde die Tierarzneimittelverordnung (TAMV) revidiert, was zu Verschiebungen von Verantwortlichkeiten zwischen Swissmedic und dem BLV führte.

Diese wurden im Grundsatz in Konsultationen zwischen BLV und Swissmedic geklärt. Im Nachgang hierzu hat Swissmedic in den letzten Monaten ihre Strategie betreffend Tierarzneimittel (TAM) geschärft und neu ausgerichtet. Zudem nahm Swissmedic die Umsetzung der Veränderungen zum Anlass, die internen Abläufe und Verantwortlichkeiten zu optimieren. Daraus resultieren die folgenden Zielsetzungen:

  • Swissmedic fokussiert sich auf die Zulassung und Marktüberwachung von Tierarzneimitteln und ist in diesem Bereich die zentrale Anlaufstelle
  • Für Immunbiologika (Impfstoffe und Seren für Tiere) ist nach wie vor das Institut für Virologie und Immunologie (IVI) verantwortlich, für die sichere Anwendung von Tierarzneimitteln sowie für die Antibiotika-Thematik in der Veterinärmedizin ist das BLV zuständig. Das BLV unterstützt den Vollzug der TAMV durch die Kantonstierärztinnen und Kantonstierärzte, Tierärztinnen und Tierärzte sowie die Tierhalterinnen und Tierhalter
  • Die Zusammenarbeit mit externen nationalen und internationalen Gremien erfolgt gezielt, transparent und wird zwischen den zuständigen Stellen koordiniert, um Doppelspurigkeiten zu verhindern. Die Zuständigkeiten für die Behandlung von Anfragen werden in Absprache mit dem BLV nach klaren Kriterien zugewiesen
  • Swissmedic konzentriert die wissenschaftliche Expertise zu Tierarzneimitteln in einer Organisationseinheit. Die Aufgaben und Zuständigkeiten für die Sicherheit von Tierarzneimitteln und Abgrenzungsfragen betreffend Tierarzneimittel werden vollständig an die Abteilung Tierarzneimittel (TAM) im Bereich Zulassung verschoben (bisher im Bereich Marktüberwachung). Die Zusammenarbeit mit VetSuisse im Bereich Tierarzneimittelvigilance wird weitergeführt.

Letzte Änderung 09.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang