*Cancelled*: Information event on the revised medical devices legislation for healthcare professionals and hospitals

The information event about the revised Medical Devices Ordinance, scheduled for 4 May 2020, has been cancelled.

The reasons for this are:
In May 2020, the new regulations on medical devices will take effect in the EU and in Switzerland. A key element of this is a European database (EUDAMED). In late 2019, the European Commission announced that this database would not be made available until May 2022, rather than May 2020 as planned. The contracting states and European bodies are currently working to clarify what impact this will have on the implementation of the new regulations.

In parallel, due to political circumstances – in particular the pending update of the Medical Devices section of the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) – a number of open issues will not be resolved before the end of May 2020.

Consequently, it will not be possible at this point to hold an information event on 4 May 2020 as planned that will meet the expectations of participants. Although all involved are working on finding solutions to pending EU-related issues and their consequences for Switzerland, reliable information concerning the implementation will not be published until a later date. Information regarding political developments can be found on the websites of the SECO as well as that of the European Commission.

The new date for the information event about the revised Medical Devices Ordinance for healthcare professionals will be published here in due course.

Please address any questions to Swissmedic via the usual channels:

On 26 May 2020, the new EU Regulation 2017/745 on medical devices (MDR) will take effect. The EU regulation is currently being transposed into Swiss law and will be applicable in Switzerland through the revised Medical Devices Ordinance (MedDO) as of spring 2020.

Since healthcare professionals and hospitals will also be affected by the new legislation, Swissmedic is organising an event where it will provide information about the main changes and implications of the revised Medical Devices Ordinance. Please save the date:

Monday, 4 May 2020, Kursaal Bern

In February 2020, the programme and the registration form will be published on the Swissmedic website at www.swissmedic.ch/md-en.

*Abgesagt*: Informationsveranstaltung für Fachanwender und Spitäler zur revidierten Medizinprodukte-Regulierung

Die Informationsveranstaltung zur revidierten Medizinprodukteverordnung vom 4. Mai 2020 ist abgesagt.

Gründe für die Absage:
Im Mai 2020 wird in der EU und auch in der Schweiz die neue Regulierung für Medizinprodukte in Kraft treten. Diese umfasst als zentrales Element eine europäische Datenbank (EUDAMED). Ende 2019 hat die EU Kommission angekündigt, dass diese Datenbank nicht ab Mai 2020 etappenweise verfügbar sein wird, sondern erst ab Mai 2022. Welche Auswirkungen dies auf die Implementierung der neuen Regulierung hat, wird derzeit bei allen Vertragsstaaten und in den europäischen Gremien abgeklärt.

Parallel dazu gibt es aufgrund der politischen Rahmenbedingungen, namentlich der ausstehenden Aktualisierung des MRA (Mutual Recognition Agreement) betreffend das Kapitel Medizinprodukte, weitere Fragen, die nicht vor Ende Mai 2020 geklärt sein werden.

Aufgrund dieser Situation ist es derzeit nicht möglich, wie ursprünglich geplant, am 4. Mai 2020 eine Informationsveranstaltung durchzuführen, welche die Erwartungen der Teilnehmenden erfüllt. Obwohl alle Beteiligten an Lösungen für die offenen Fragen im Verhältnis mit der Europäischen Union und deren Auswirkungen auf die Schweiz arbeiten, können verlässliche Aussagen zur Umsetzung erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt publiziert werden. Informationen zur Entwicklung der Rahmenbedingungen sind auf den Internetseiten des SECO sowie der EU-Kommission verfügbar.

Ein neuer Termin für die Informationsveranstaltung für Fachanwender zur revidierten Medizinprodukteverordnung wird hier publiziert.

Fragen können über die gewohnten Kanäle an Swissmedic gestellt werden:

Am 26. Mai 2020 wird die neue EU-Verordnung 2017/745 über Medizinprodukte (MDR) ihre Gültigkeit erlangen. Die EU-Verordnung wird derzeit in schweizerisches Recht überführt und soll im Frühjahr 2020 mit der revidierten Medizinprodukteverordnung (MepV) auch in der Schweiz anwendbar sein.

Da auch Fachanwender und Spitäler von den neuen gesetzlichen Vorgaben betroffen sein werden, wird Swissmedic an einer Informationsveranstaltung über die wichtigsten Änderungen und Auswirkungen im Zusammenhang mit der revidierten Medizinprodukteverordnung informieren. Die Veranstaltung findet statt am:

Montag, 4. Mai 2020, im Kursaal Bern

Im Februar 2020 wird das Programm sowie das Anmeldeformular auf der Swissmedic Internetseite www.swissmedic.ch/md publiziert.