eCTD v4.0

eCTD v4.0 is a new technical standard relating to the submission of applications for the authorisation of medicinal products. The standard – developed by the ICH (International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use) – is an upgraded version of the currently valid standard eCTD v3.2.2 on which Swissmedic’s current eCTD solution is based. The new standard will be introduced over the next few years; the exact timeframe has not yet been defined.

In connection with the introduction of the new eCTD v4.0 standard, Swissmedic is conducting a public consultation of the Swiss Regional Implementation Guide and the related technical documents. The Implementation Guide is the underlying document describing the technical aspects of the new specifications. It consists of two parts:

  • the ICH Implementation Guide, which was developed by ICH and relates to the internationally harmonised eCTD modules 2–5 and to the overarching topics; this Guide was first published in 2015 and has been successively updated ever since;
  • the Swiss regional Implementation Guide, which was drafted by Swissmedic and contains the technical requirements of the Swiss eCTD module 1.

The public consultation relates to the Swiss regional Implementation Guide.

In launching this public consultation process, Swissmedic is inviting authorisation holders, software manufacturers, service providers in the regulatory affairs field, other authorities and interested parties to examine the current Implementation Package and communicate their comments and change requests to Swissmedic. Please use the form provided to send Swissmedic your feedback by 30 September 2020.

Comments arising from the public consultation will be used to optimise the Implementation Package. In this way, we can create the right basis for successfully rolling out the new eCTD v4.0 standard at Swissmedic and other relevant organisations. The final Implementation Package is due to be published in December 2020.

The Swiss Implementation Package contains the following files:

  • draft Swiss eCTD v4.0 Implementation Guide
  • lists of all Controlled Vocabularies
  • template for comments submitted in the public consultation

Swissmedic
Operational Support Services
Hallerstrasse 7
3012 Berne
Switzerland
E-mail

Last modification 02.07.2020

Top of page

eCTD v4.0

eCTD v4.0 ist ein durch die ICH (International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use) neu entwickelter technischer Standard zur Einreichung von Gesuchen für die Zulassung von Arzneimitteln. Er ist eine Weiterentwicklung des derzeit gültigen Standards eCTD v3.2.2, auf welchem auch die aktuelle eCTD-Lösung von Swissmedic basiert. Die Einführung des neuen Standards erfolgt in den nächsten Jahren; der Einführungszeitplan ist noch nicht festgelegt.

Im Zusammenhang mit der Einführung des neuen Standards eCTD v4.0 führt Swissmedic eine öffentliche Anhörung des «Swiss Regional Implementation Guide» und der zugehörigen technischen Dokumente durch. Der Implementation Guide ist ein Grundlagendokument, welches die technischen Aspekte der neuen Spezifikation beschreibt. Er besteht aus zwei Teilen:

  • Der ICH Implementation Guide wurde durch die ICH entwickelt und bezieht sich auf die international harmonisierten Module 2 bis 5 des eCTD sowie auf die übergeordneten Themen. Der ICH Implementation Guide wurde 2015 erstmals publiziert und seither laufend aktualisiert.
  • Der regionale Implementation Guide der Schweiz wurde durch die Swissmedic erarbeitet und beinhaltet die technischen Anforderungen des Schweizer eCTD Moduls 1.

Die öffentliche Anhörung bezieht sich auf den regionalen Implementation Guide der Schweiz.

Mit der öffentlichen Anhörung lädt Swissmedic Zulassungsinhaberinnen, Software-Hersteller, Dienstleister auf dem Gebiet Regulatory Affairs, andere Behörden und interessierte Parteien dazu ein, das vorliegende «Implementation Package» zu prüfen und Kommentare und Änderungswünsche an Swissmedic zu melden. Swissmedic bittet um entsprechende Rückmeldungen mit dem dafür vorgesehenen Formular bis spätestens 30. September 2020.

Die Kommentare aus der öffentlichen Anhörung werden dazu verwendet, das Implementation Package weiter zu optimieren. Damit können geeignete Grundlagen geschaffen werden, den neuen Standard eCTD v4.0 bei Swissmedic und den betroffenen Parteien erfolgreich einzuführen. Das finale Implementation Package soll im Dezember 2020 publiziert werden.

Das Schweizer Implementation Package beinhaltet folgende Dateien:

  • Draft Swiss eCTD v4.0 Implementation Guide
  • Listen mit allen Controlled Vocabularies
  • Vorlage für Kommentare zur öffentlichen Anhörung

Swissmedic
Operational Support Services
Hallerstrasse 7
3012 Bern
Schweiz
E-Mail

Letzte Änderung 02.07.2020

Zum Seitenanfang