Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ on the MDR

The transitional provisions associated with the MDR have raised a large number of practical questions. A European working group has examined these questions closely and prepared an FAQ document that was published on 18 January 2018.


FAQ on the IVDR

The transitional provisions associated with the IVDR have raised a large number of practical questions. A European working group has examined these questions closely and prepared an FAQ document that was published on 18 January 2018.


EU Commission/MDCG Factsheets for manufacturers of medical devices and IVDs

The EU Commission and the Medical Device Coordination Group (MDCG) continually publish various factsheets containing important information on the implementation of the MDR/IVDR as well as guidance documents on specific topics. Below you will find direct links to a selection of documents:


MDR & IVDR: 2nd National Conference: Effects on Switzerland, 28 March 2018 – Swissmedic's answers to the questions

29 August 2018: In the following document you will find all the questions that were asked at the 2nd National Conference on MDR and IVDR (held in Bern on 28 March 2018) that have been answered by Swissmedic.


Medical Devices Nomenclature

02.04.2019. The European Commission, in cooperation with the MDCG (Medical Device Coordination Group), has decided to use the Italian CND nomenclature for the future Eudamed (European database on medical devices), in line with Article 26 of the MDR and Article 23 of the IVDR. Mapping to the GMDN (Global Medical Device Nomenclature) will be made available.

Further information about the European Commission’s selection process can be found here:

Information on the CND nomenclature can also be found on the website of the Italian authorities:


https://www.swissmedic.ch/content/swissmedic/en/home/medizinprodukte/neue-eu-verordnungen--mdr--ivdr-/faq.html

Häufige Fragen – FAQ

FAQ zur MDR

Die Übergangsbestimmungen in der MDR haben viele praktische Fragen aufgeworfen. Eine europäische Arbeitsgruppe hat sich mit diesen Fragen intensiv auseinandergesetzt und ein FAQ-Dokument erstellt, welches am 18. Januar 2018 publiziert wurde:


FAQ zur IVDR

Die Übergangsbestimmungen in der IVDR haben viele praktische Fragen aufgeworfen. Eine europäische Arbeitsgruppe hat sich mit diesen Fragen intensiv auseinandergesetzt und ein FAQ-Dokument erstellt, welches am 18. Januar 2018 publiziert wurde:


Factsheets der EU-Kommission / dem MDCG für Hersteller von Medizinprodukten und IVD

Die EU-Kommission und das MDCG (Medical Device Coordination Group - Koordinierungsgruppe Medizinprodukte) veröffentlichen laufend verschiedene Factsheets mit den wichtigsten Informationen zur Umsetzung der MDR / IVDR sowie Leitlinien für spezifische Themen. Untenstehend finden Sie Direktlinks zu einigen ausgewählten Dokumenten:


MDR & IVDR: 2. nationale Konferenz: Auswirkungen auf die Schweiz vom 28.März 2018 - Beantwortung der Fragen durch Swissmedic

29. August 2018: Im nachstehenden Dokument finden Sie alle Fragen, welche an der 2. nationalen Konferenz zu MDR und IVDR in Bern am 28.März 2018 gestellt wurden, beantwortet durch Swissmedic.


Nomenklatur für Medizinprodukte

02.04.2019: Die EU-Kommission, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem MDCG (Medical Device Coordination Group), hat, basierend auf Artikel 26 der MDR sowie Artikel 23 der IVDR, entschieden, die Italienische CND Nomenklatur für die zukünftige Eudamed (Europäische Datenbank für Medizinprodukte) zu verwenden. Es wird ein Mapping auf die GMDN (Global Medical Device Nomenclature) Nomenklatur zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Weitere Informationen bezüglich des Auswahlprozesses durch die EU-Kommission finden Sie hier:

Informationen zur CND-Nomenklatur finden Sie auch auf der Homepage der Italienischen Behörde:


https://www.swissmedic.ch/content/swissmedic/de/home/medizinprodukte/neue-eu-verordnungen--mdr--ivdr-/faq.html